Roger W. Jones Award Nominations

About the Award

  • Since 1978, the Roger W. Jones Award has annually recognized federal career executives of the Senior Executive Service who have demonstrated superior leadership in achieving their agency’s mission and developing future managers.
  • In line with the values of the Key Executive Leadership Program, this prestigious award is reserved for men and women who demonstrate a commitment not only to mission success, but to developing and inspiring those whom they lead.
  • Recipients of the Roger W. Jones Award are honored at the Key Executive Leadership Conference held each June in Washington DC. This event draws hundreds of federal leaders from across the government for a day dedicated to personal and professional development.
  • Each honoree receives a $2,500 cash award.

Who he was?

Roger W. Jones (February 3, 1908 – May 28, 1993) was a United States government official that served seven US Presidents over 43 years.  Served as Deputy Secretary of State, Deputy Director of the Office of Management and Budget, and Chairman of the Civil Service Commission.

  • gave speeches extolling the importance of public administration
  • stressed the need to provide professional education for public managers
  • a prolific writer for several outlets including the Public Administration Review, The Bureaucrat, Personnel Administration, and the Civil Service Journal.

How to Nominate

  • Nominations are due February 3, 2020 and may be submitted by email to Jennifer Tether at Please address all inquires / nominations to the Roger Jones Awards Committee
  • 2019/20 winners will be announced in April 2020.