AFERM Scholarships

AFERM provide the RIMS-CRMP-FED Scholarship and AFERM/George Mason University Chief Risk Officer (CRO) Program Scholarship opportunities again in 2022. We appreciate receiving your application and supporting you in making a significant difference in the Federal ERM Community. This year, the scholarships and awards were presented at the 2022 AFERM ERM Summit in October.

Congratulations to the 2022 Scholarship Recipients!


Sylvania Kandil, Program Analyst, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

AFERM/George Mason University CRO Scholarships

Dr. Temika Edwards, Chief Risk Officer, U.S Department of Housing and Urban Development Office of Inspector General
Nikki Wood, Chief, Management Integrity & Accountability Branch, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

RIMS-CRMP-FED Scholarship

The RIMS-CRMP-FED scholarship is valued at $1,000. These scholarships cover the full cost of the on demand self-study courses and exam fees. Recipients also have the option to instead apply the $1,000 to the cost of the live prep course, which typically costs $1,995. If the recipient selects the live prep course, they would then be responsible for the balance.202

This scholarship is intended for professionals who are AFERM members, federal employees, and meet the degree and experience requirements as set by RIMS. Visit: to review the eligibility requirements.

NOTE: You must login to your member account to access this application. If you are not a member, you can join now and then use your member account to apply.

AFERM/George Mason University CRO Scholarship Program

One scholarship will be awarded to a recipient towards their enrollment in the George Mason University (GMU) Chief Risk Officer (CRO) Executive Development Program. The scholarship will be for use in the Winter 2023 program, which begins on January 25, 2023, and ends on June 6, 2023. The scholarship is valued at $5,500. The recipient will still be responsible for the balance of the remaining tuition (typically an additional $3,000) due prior to the start of the program.

This scholarship is named in memory of Jeanne Spencer, who was a friend to AFERM and instrumental in standing up the GMU CRO Program. The program is focused on preparing individuals to effectively execute the practices of a CRO in today’s rapidly changing business environment.  In addition to receiving the GMU Executive Certificate, those successfully completing the program receive the CRO Digital Badge from GMU.

This scholarship is intended for professionals who are AFERM members and are a GS-14, GS-15, SES or equivalent level federal employee with oversight of fields such as risk, strategy, fraud, budget, performance, and/or program management. The application on the AFERM website requires a statement of intent of maximum length 500 words where the applicant can also reflect on the importance of advancing the practice of Enterprise Risk Management (ERM) in the federal government through thought leadership, education, and collaboration.

Past Scholarship Recipients

2021 AFERM/RIMS-CRMP-FED Scholarship

Tabatha McCullom, Financial & Operational Risk Analyst, U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission

2021 AFERM/George Mason University CRO Scholarship

SJ Lynch, ERM Director, Food & Drug Administration

2020 AFERM/RIMS-CRMP-FED Scholarship

Darlene Bennett, Dept. of the Navy

2020 AFERM/George Mason University CRO Scholarship

Angela Crane, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission